Blueberry Bread…

My lovely neighbour has been baking her own bread in a very good housewifely manner and I felt that I needed to bake some sort of bread to round out my housewifely experienced… Luckily, I found this very easy, very tasty, very nice recipe while I was procrastinating… I’d had enough of reading articles and decided to do some ‘research’ for my own little food blog and stumbled across Willow Bird Baking… I like this blog very much…

Thats where I found this delicious looking Blueberry Bread… Now I would encourage you all to head to Willow Bird Baking but I don’t want you to see her pics of the bread…. they’re a lot more attractive than mine…

Lovely with a huge dose of butter and a cup of tea..

but the bread was still delicious despite my loaf being a little unphotogenic.. and is surprisingly low in sugar so I’m gonna say its healthy.. Toasting is highly recommended!

Blueberry Bread


Recipe by: Adapted from Willow Bird Baking
Yields: one loaf

Ingredients:
2/3 cup packed brown sugar
3/4 cup milk
1/2 cup vegetable oil
2 eggs
2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 cup quick-cooking or old-fashioned oats
3 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon salt
1+1/2 cup fresh or frozen blueberries

Directions:
1. Heat oven to 180ºC. Grease bottom only of a loaf pan.
2. In large bowl, mix brown sugar, milk, oil and eggs with spoon. Stir in remaining ingredients except blueberries and nuts; beat 30 seconds. Fold in blueberries and nuts. Pour into pan. Sprinkle with additional oats if desired.
3. Bake 45 to 55 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean(NOTE: this took about 55 minutes or even a little longer for me). Cool 10 minutes. Loosen sides of loaf from pan; remove from pan to wire rack. Cool completely, about 2 hours, before slicing. Wrap tightly and store at room temperature up to 4 days, or refrigerate up to 10 days.

Happy Baking…

Leave a Reply

