Mid-week Fancy Pants Getaway…

There are certain times in ones life when… regardless of the financial situation.. a splurge is absolutely necessary… Last week just happened to be one such time… what better excuse to spend a lot of money and have a lot of fun than your very first wedding anniversary! Wow… typing it makes it feel so much more real… I’ve only been married for a year! It feels like a life time… not in a a bad way of course…

I think you just get so comfortable together that it can feel like you’ve been married for ever… it’s nice… so that is my excuse for not having a specifically food related blog this week… though we did eat some FANTASTIC food… the first evening Adrian took me to Darley’s Restaurant… the two hat restaurant that is a part of the whole Lilianfels area where we stayed in the Blue Mountains… and I tell you… it was magical… unfortunately I’m a little to shy to prance into a fancy restaurant with a big beefy camera and flash snaps of everything but if you’re super keen google the restaurant and you will understand the quality of the food… the next morning we found a quirky little cafe in the main st of Katoomba…

You know I struggle to remember the name of the cafe but I remember we chose it because they had fair trade coffee… aren’t we just so trendy and eco friendly? I think it also helped that they had a delicious breakfast menu… one of which was a “couples” brung… which seemed fitting considering the occassion… this my friends was possibly… dare I say it… the BEST brunch I have EVER eaten… Now, just a little background information… if you know me, you will know that I am quite a fan of the meal called breakfast (just a note: there is no such thing as brunch, its a crock, breakfast can and should be eaten at any time of the day!) so i have had my fair share of breakfasts… be it 8am or 8pm I am always willing to scoff a delicious breakfast and I tell you this was delicious… bircher muesli with stewed rhubarb, scrambled eggs, roasted tomato, mushrooms, pancakes with banana, grilled sourdough with ricotta and a berry compote… I am salivating just typing about it… but breakfast aside there was another highlight to the mid-week getaway…

any guesses? isn’t it lovely… I hope I have piqued your interest because you will have to wait till tomorrow for the rest of our adventure…

better add the token tourist photo…

Happy Splurging!

Leave a Reply

